Quote

Me, I would write my biography! Wait, let me rephrase that!

24 Mar

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ghostwriter.”

image

Early Monday morning I woke up and before going back to sleep I reached for my I-Pad to check the day’s prompt. I quickly had some ideas in mind but I went back to sleep. I am glad I waited because later on in the night I read this article which I will mention soon. But I will first write what I had planned at the beginning:

‘If I was able to choose anyone I wanted to write my biography, I would want it to be me. Of course, it would have to be me. I have always wanted to be a writer.  Not to mention a ghostwriter who does ghost work is going to want to take all of the ghost profits. Ha!!

But seriously, it is my life experience. I have first-hand memories of every little detail, good or bad. Why would I want someone else to profit from all my struggles? Learn from them, yes. But not an uninterested ghostwriter, who is just getting by, making money off my story till his own story gets published.’

That was what I had in mind. Then I read an article on Facebook about how Jesus’ resurrection was written by first-hand witnesses. It goes on to say that some claim the decades between witnessing the resurrection and putting it in writing makes it unreliable. The article challenges that claim by mentioning how reporters who interviewed World War 2 survivors were asking these people who lived the events to recall what happened 70 years after the fact. Now I know nobody is going to deny these interviewees correctly remember every last detail.

image

I am not comparing my life to the life of Jesus; That would be ludicrous. But stories of how Jesus Christ rose from the grave and showed himself to many afterwards came from those who witnessed these historical events. But more than that, they were his friends that spread much of the accounts.

So in that way I think it would be nice to have some really close friends, who were there, to write my biography. Make it a family member, like my brother, who knows me better than anybody and that would be awesome. I would say my grandmother knows me best. But it has to be someone who tells my story way after I am gone. Ha!!

I will add that my revised ideas after reading the article come off a lot more modest! Ha!

Copyright (C) Dustin Poteet 2015

Leave a Reply

